#### **ANNUAL COUNCIL**

Thursday, 23 May 2019

**PRESENT** – The Mayor; Councillors Ali, Allen, Baldwin, Bartch, Bell, Boddy, Dr. Chou, Clarke, Copeland, Cossins, Crudass, Crumbie, Mrs Culley, Curry, Donoghue, Dulston, Durham, Galletley, Harker, Haszeldine, Heslop, Holroyd, Howarth, Howell, C L B Hughes, L Hughes, Johnson, B Jones, Mrs D Jones, Keir, Laing, Layton, Lee, Lister, Lucas, Marshall, McCollom, McEwan, Mills, Newall, M Nicholson, K Nicholson, Paley, Preston, Renton, A J Scott, Mrs H Scott, Snedker, Tait, Tostevin, Wallis and Wright

### 1 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST.

There were no declarations of interest reported at the meeting.

### 2 TO ELECT A MAYOR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019/2020.

Consideration was given to the election of a Mayor for the Municipal Year 2019/20.

RESOLVED – That Councillor Nicholas Wallis be elected Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2019/20.

Following his election, the Mayor made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, and:-

- (i) Signed the 'Queen Victoria Diamond Jubilee Record Book';
- (ii) Was invested with the Chain of Office;
- (iii) Tendered his thanks to the Members of the Council for having elected him;
- (iv) Announced his decision to support the Multiple Sclerosis Society and Darlington's food banks; and
- (v) Announced that his Mayoress for the Mayoral Year would be his wife, Mrs. Sandra Thorne-Wallis.

## 3 RETIRING MAYOR - VOTE OF THANKS

A vote of thanks was proposed to the retiring Mayor and Escort.

RESOLVED – That the cordial thanks of the Council are due, and hereby tendered, to Veronica Copeland and David Copeland, for the exemplary manner in which they have discharged the duties of the high office of Mayor and Escort of this Borough during the past Municipal Year.

In recognition of their services, the Mayor presented the retiring Mayor and Escort with a medallion and badge respectively.

## 4 TO APPOINT A DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2019/2020

- Consideration was given to the appointment of a Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2019/20.

RESOLVED - That Councillor McEwan be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2019/20.

## 5 TO RECEIVE A RETURN OF COUNCILLORS ELECTED ON 2 MAY 2019

- Received – A schedule (previously circulated) of the Returning Officer that the undermentioned persons had been elected Members of the Council and had made and subscribed their Declarations of Acceptance of Office, namely:-

WARD	NAME
BANK TOP AND	Helen Crumbie
LASCELLES	Wendy Newall
	Darrien Wright
BRINKBURN AND FAVERDALE	Scott Durham
FAVERDALE	Rachel Mills
	Lisa Preston
COCKERTON	Paul Baldwin
	Jan Cossins
	Eddie Heslop
COLLEGE	Bryony Holroyd PhD
	Matthew Snedker
EASTBOURNE	Jonathan Dulston
	Kevin Nicholson
	Steven Tait
HARROWGATE HILL	Ian Bell
	Jon Clarke
	Lynn Paley

HAUGHTON AND SPRINGFIELD

Chris McEwan

**Andrew Scott** 

Nick Wallis

HEIGHINGTON AND

CONISCLIFFE

Paul Crudass

Gerald Lee

HUMMERSKNOTT Paul Howell

Charles Johnson

HURWORTH Dr. Christy Chou

Lorraine Tostevin

MOWDEN Pauline Culley

Alan Marshall

NORTH ROAD Hilary Allen

Nigel Boddy LLB

Anne-Marie Curry

NORTHGATE Sajna Ali

**Eleanor Lister** 

PARK EAST Cyndi Hughes

Libby McCollom

Michael Nicholson

PARK WEST Bob Donoghue

**Heather Scott** 

PIERREMONT Steve Harker

Linda Hughes

Mary Layton

RED HALL AND LINGFIELD

Sam Howarth

Hilary Lucas

SADBERGE AND MIDDLETON ST. GEORGE	Brian Jones
	Doris Jones
	Deborah Laing
STEPHENSON	Ian Haszeldine
	Mike Renton
WHINFIELD	Jamie Bartch, BA, MA
	Andy Keir

NOTE: The Mayor informed Members that the newly-elected Members had drawn lots to determine their order of seniority on the Council immediately prior to this Annual Meeting of the Council. The Order of Seniority for official purposes was listed as follows:

Position	Councillor
1.	Mrs. Scott
2.	Mrs. Jones
3.	Lister
4.	Wallis
5.	Baldwin
6.	Harker
7.	Haszeldine
8.	Johnson
9.	McEwan
10.	Newall
11.	Lee
12.	B. Jones
13.	A. J. Scott
14.	C. Hughes
15.	Curry
16.	Cossins
17.	Crudass
18.	Donoghue
19.	L. Hughes
20.	Crumbie
21.	Mrs. Culley
22.	Tostevin
23.	Mills
24.	K. Nicholson
25.	M. Nicholson
26.	Marshall
27.	Heslop
28.	Renton

29.	Holroyd
30.	Howarth
31.	Ali
32.	Clarke
33.	
	Paley
34.	Snedker
35.	Tait
36.	Dulston
37.	Bell
38.	Lucas
39.	Allen
40.	Laing
41.	Wright
42.	Boddy
43.	Bartch
44.	Layton
45.	Keir
46.	McCollom
47.	Dr. Chou
48.	Howell
49.	Durham
50.	Preston
50.	1 163(011

# THE MAYOR OR MANAGING DIRECTOR TO MAKE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS THAT MAY BE NECESSARY.

There were no announcements made.

# 7 TO APPOINT THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR A FOUR YEAR TERM OF OFFICE.

Consideration was given to the appointment of a Leader for the Council for a four year term of office.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rules, a request was made by five Members for a named vote on the Substantive Motion. A named vote was taken of those Members present at the meeting and there appeared:-

For the Motion – Councillors Allen, Bartch, Bell, Boddy, Dr. Chou, Clarke, Crudass, Mrs. Culley, Curry, Donoghue, Dulston, Durham, Howell, Johnson, B. Jones, Mrs. D. Jones, Keir, Laing, Lee, Marshall, Mills, K. Nicholson, Preston, Renton, Mrs. H. Scott, Tait, Tostevin and Wright (28)

Against the Motion – Councillors Ali, Baldwin, Cossins, Crumbie, Harker, Haszeldine, Heslop, Howarth, C. L. B. Hughes, L. Hughes, Layton, Lister, Lucas, McCollom, McEwan, Newall, M. Nicholson, Paley and A. J. Scott (19)

Abstentions – The Mayor; Councillors Holroyd and Snedker (3)

Motion Carried.

RESOLVED - That Councillor Mrs. H. Scott be appointed Leader of the Council for a four year term of office.

#### 8 APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES 2019/2020

The Managing Director submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to the membership of the various Committees for the 2019/20 Municipal Year.

RESOLVED – (a) That the appointment of Members to the various Committees, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, with the addition of Councillor Kevin Nicholson to the vacancy on the Appraisal Sub-Group, be approved.

- (b) That the appointment of Cabinet Members by the Leader and their respective Portfolios, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, be noted.
- (c) That any consequential changes be made to the Council's Constitution.

REASON – To comply with the nominations received.

#### 9 REPRESENTATION ON OTHER BODIES 2019/20

The Managing Director submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to representation on other bodies for the 2019/20 Municipal Year.

RESOLVED – That the nominations to the other bodies, as detailed in paragraph 6 of the submitted report, be approved.

REASON - To comply with the nominations received from the Political Groups.

# 10 TO APPROVE A PROGRAMME OF ORDINARY MEETINGS OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE 2019/2020 MUNICIPAL YEAR

 Submited – A programme of Ordinary Meetings of the Council for the 2019/2020 Municipal Year.

RESOLVED – That the programme of ordinary meetings be approved.